Josephine Johnson Releases New CD, July 17th, Old Town Coffee & Chocolates


EUREKA, California– On Saturday, July 17th, Eureka-based singer-songwriter Josephine Johnson celebrates the release of her first CD, elemental, at Old Town Coffee and Chocolates, 211 F Street, Eureka. The party begins at 7 pm; admission is free, and all ages are welcome. Ms. Johnson will perform songs from her new CD with musical support from Andrew Goff (bass, guitar), Rachel Hrdina (accordion), William Startare (percussion) and more local guest musicians. CDs are $10.

“Having the CD release party at Old Town Coffee and Chocolates brings everything full circle for me musically,” said Johnson. “I’ve been playing, sharing, and honing my songs on the local open-mic scene nearly three years now, and much of the music on the new CD is a direct result of that process.” Old Town Coffee and Chocolates also hosts an open-mic with Sky Miller each Wednesday 6:00 to 9:00 pm. “I am thrilled to release the CD at a venue known for its supportive music community, a great community which continues to encourage the development of my music and writing,” Johnson said.

Johnson, who graduated from Humboldt State University in 2007 with an MA in English, worked full-time as a local non-profit administrator before realizing she needed to devote more time to music. “I’ve always sang and written, and I knew I had this music in me needing time and attention. So, I took a leap of faith and in the midst of a global economic recession, I left my salaried job last year. Thankfully, I’ve been able to re-arrange my life to accommodate the creative process that is songwriting and music making.  Recording and releasing the new CD marks the beginning of a new professional era. I am doing what I love, and I know this collection of songs is but only the beginning,” Johnson concluded.

In April Josephine Johnson and guitarist Andrew Goff won the Arkley Center “Evening of Talent” performing her original song “Andrew’s Song,” a tribute to Eureka resident Andrew Pease who was fatally stabbed in February 2009.  Johnson has also been selected to perform in the emerging songwriter showcase at this year’s Humboldt Folklife Festival July 20th in Blue Lake. Josephine Johnson performs each Tuesday 11:00 am to 1:00pm at Has Beans Coffee, 2nd & I Streets, Old Town, Eureka.

Who:  Josephine Johnson

What: CD Release Party

When: Saturday, July 17, 7 pm

Where: Old Town Coffee and Chocolates, 211 F Street, Eureka